Paul Nkata Leads Tusker FC Into SportPesa Premier League Championship

Tusker FC's Jesse Were Photo/Courtesy

Tusker are the 2016 SPL champions after beating AFC Leopards 1-0 to claim their 11th top flight crown on Sunday 6 at Afraha Stadium in Nakuru.

The brewers’ winner goal was netted by Ugandan, Shafik Batambuze in the 68th minute of the face off courtesy of a corner kick.

The sweet win sealed the title race with Paul Nkata’s side at 58 points, four points above the 2015 title champions Gor Mahia.

READ ALSO: Prediction: Tusker FC Will Win 2016 SPL Title

Gor Mahia had won 2-0 against Muhoroni Youth on Saturday hoping that the win would revive their hopes of retaining the title for the third consecutive round.

Even with the slip, Gor Mahia defender Karim Nizigiyimana has appreciated the support their fans have shown the Green Army in their unsuccessful title chase.