National Super Alliance (NASA) leader Raila Odinga. /COURTESY

The National Super Alliance leader Raila Odinga has affirmed that Ford Kenya leader Moses Wetang’ula and Suba South MP John Mbadi will be the minority leaders of the side in the Senate and National Assembly respectively.

Mr Odinga has further distanced himself from a purported list of key leaders for the coalition in the 12th parliament. The NASA leader said other slots will be deliberated on during a coalition meeting.

He said; “Wetang’ula is the leader in the Senate and Mbadi in Parliament. We will sit down and agree on the leadership of the house. This will be something to be negotiated.”

NASA CEO Norman Magaya had poked holes in the purported list of officials appointed in both Houses of Parliament. He said it had not been approved by the NASA leadership.

READ ALSO: New Details: Presidential Repeat Polls To Be Postponed

It was alleged that NASA picked Mbadi as National Assembly minority leader and Lugari’s Ayub Savula as the deputy. Robert Mbui was reportedly chosen as the minority whip.

The confusion reached its peak when 15 ODM MPs from the Coast threatened to quit the opposition for not being considered in the new leadership line-up in the 12th parliament.

The lawmakers protested that they had been side-lined and disrespected by NASA.

Led by Msambweni MP Suleiman Dori, they vowed to source for an alternative political camp that would value their political input.

Leave a Reply