Gor Mahia have been crowned the 2017 Sportpesa Premier League champions ending the season in style at Kisumu’s Moi Stadium.

Kogalo settled for a 2-2 draw with visitors SoNy FC taking home their 16th title with 74 points ahead of second placed Sofaka at 55 points.

Rwandese Meddie Kagere scored a brace in the 26th and 32nd minute for the champions.

George Abege netted in the 22nd minute as substitute Geulord Yema added the second goal for SoNy in the 71st minute.

Kisumu Governor Anyang’ Nyong’o and his Homabay counterpart Cyprian Awiti, Ronald Karauiri the Sportspesa CEO and Gor chairman Ambrose Rachier are among high profile persons who attended the match.