President Uhuru Kenyatta. /CAPITAL FM

President Uhuru Kenyatta on Wednesday signed into law the County Allocation of Revenue Amendment Bill paving way for the disbursement of funds to the counties by the National Treasury.

The new Act of Parliament sets out accurately the conditional allocations to county governments from loans and grants thereby aligning the County Allocation of Revenue Act, 2017 to the provisions of the Division of Revenue Act, 2017.

President Kenyatta said the disbursement of funds will enable county governments to undertake their responsibilities and deliver on their mandate.

“The national government is committed to ensuring devolution succeeds and will continue to facilitate county governments to deliver on their mandate,” the President said.

The delay by the National Treasury to release funds to the devolved units has reportedly hampered their operations nearly five months into the 2017/18 financial year.

Media reports suggested that most governors have been only providing essential services. Others have resorted to more borrowing to meet their elementary duties.

Present during the signing of the Bill were the Deputy President William Ruto, Head of Public Service and Chief of Staff Joseph Kinyua, Speaker of National Assembly Justin Muturi and his senate counterpart Kenneth Lusaka, Leader of Majority in the National Assembly Aden Duale and Majority Leader in the Senate Kipchumba Murkomen.